Mount Sinai Health System Hospital Campuses: Mount Sinai Beth IsraelMount Sinai Beth Israel BrooklynThe Mount Sinai Hospital
Mount Sinai QueensMount Sinai RooseveltMount Sinai St. Luke'sNew York Eye and Ear Infirmary of Mount Sinai
Alejandro Berenstein, MD
Director, Hyman-Newman Institute for Neurology and Neurosurgery, Mount Sinai St. Luke's Roosevelt and Mount Sinai Beth Israel
Photo of Alejandro Berenstein, MD
Affiliated with:
Mount Sinai Beth Israel
Mount Sinai St. Luke’s Roosevelt
Center, Institute, ProgramThe Hyman-Newman Institute for Neurology & Neurosurgery Center For Endovascular Surgery
Medical SpecialtyEndovascular Surgery
Insurance See Insurance Providers
Board CertificationsAmerican Board of Radiology, 1976
Medical SchoolUniversidad National Autonoma de Mexico, 1969
Residency TrainingRadiology, Mount Sinai Medical Center, New York, NY, 1973‑1976
FellowshipNeuroradiology, New York University Medical Center, New York, NY, 1976‑1978
Academic AppointmentProfessor of Radiology, Professor of Neurology and Neurosurgery, Albert Einstein College of Medicine
From the doctorAlejandro Berenstein, M.D., came to Mount Sinai Beth Israel from New York University Medical Center, where he entered on a fellowship in diagnostic neuroradiology in 1976, and then remained for 20 years. He is a pioneer in the emerging field of interventional neuroradiology, with use of a minimal invasive procedure to treat conditions related to the vascular system in the brain, head, face, spine, and spinal cord. Dr. Berenstein created and developed the first division of interventional neuroradiology (surgical neuroangiography) in the United States, recognizing complex vascular problems of the brain and spinal cord. He also developed the first multidisciplinary center for congenital vascular anomalies and hemangiomas where a team of specialists review and design treatment strategies for patients with vascular problems of the head and neck. Dr. Berenstein uses the same concepts, techniques and multidisciplinary expertise at the INN in cases of aneurysm, vascular tumors, vascular malformation, birth marks and other vascular abnormalities.

A native of Mexico City, Mexico, Dr. Berenstein received his Bachelor of Science Degree from the Escuela Secundaria y Preparatory de la Ciudad de Mexico. Dr. Berenstein now lives in New York City with his wife, Marie Josie, and two daughters, Vanessa and Erica.

Dr. Berenstein is among New York Magazine's "Best Doctors" as listed in the June 2011 edition of the magazine. The New York Magazine list is excerpted from Castle Connolly's annual guidebook, Top Doctors: New York Metro Area."

Dr. Berenstein was also named in the latest edition of "America's Top Doctors."
Address1000 Tenth Avenue, Tenth floor
New York NY 10019
Telephone: (212) 636-3400
Fax: (212) 636-3296
*All Board Certifications and Subspecialty Certifications are granted by The American Board of Medical Specialties, unless otherwise noted.
Privacy Policy | Site Map
Copyright ©  Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai | Mount Sinai Health System